See plays, hear poetry, Say Anything this semester

Short days, heaps of snow and hours examining your dreadfully pale skin may have lulled you into a midwinter’s daze. The College knows. That’s why, to welcome you back, it’s prepared a slew of activities to inject some color back into your life — if not your complexion.

Speakers, Concerts and Nooners
Brought to you by College Union Board

CUB kicks off the semester with Welcome Back week. The event will feature a lecture by director Andrew Jenks, pictured below, a concert, a poetry performance and a Nooner. For more events, go to tcnjcub.com.

• Andrew Jenks Lecture
Where: Kendall Hall
When: 8 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 20

• Welcome Back Concert featuring Say Anything, Time Will Tell and Hotspur
Where: Kendall Hall
When: 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 22

• Welcome Back Nooner
Where: Brower Student Center
When: 11 a.m. Friday, Jan. 21

• Mayhem Poets Performance
Where: The Rat
When: 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 21


Battles of the Bands and Coffeehouses
Brought to you by WTSR

The College’s radio station, WTSR, will hold monthly Decaf Coffeehouses in T-Dubs on Thursday nights. The station has two other events planned for the semester so far. For more events, go to wtsr.org.

• Battle of Campus Musicians
Where: TBA
When: Thursday, Jan. 20

• Rock ‘n’ Raffle Battle of the Bands
Where: Brower Student Center Rm. 202
When: 6 p.m. Friday, Feb. 4

Reading Series and The Goods
Brought to you by ink

Ink will sponsor two student reading series and one professor reading series this semester. Its literary pursuits culminate in The Goods, its semiannual student art jamboree. For more information, go to tcnj.edu/~ink.

• Student Reading Series
Where: TBA
When: 8 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 23 and Wednesday, Mar. 30

• Professor Reading Series feat. Jess Row
Where: Library Auditorium
When: 4:30 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 10

• The Goods
Where: The Rat
When: 1 p.m. Saturday, April 16

Productions
Brought to you by All College Theatre and TCNJ Musical Theatre

Let ACT and TMT entertain you this semester. You’ll have a real good time.

Go to tcnj.edu/~act and tcnj.edu/~tmt for more information.

• ACT: “Bug”
Where: Don Evans Black Box Theatre
When: 8 p.m. Wednesday Feb. 23 to Friday, Feb. 25, 2 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 26

• ACT: “An Evening of Shorts”
Where: Don Evans Black Box Theatre
When: 8 p.m. Wednesday, April 13 to Friday, April 15, 2 p.m. Saturday, April 16

• TMT: “Thoroughly Modern Millie”
Where and When: TBA


A Capella Concerts
Brought to you by The Trentones

Hankering for a bevy of sweet voices to croon in your direction? The Trentones — and a host of their regional counterparts — will deliver during a competition to be held at the College in February.

• International Championship of Collegiate A Capella (ICCA) Competition
Where: Kendall Hall
When: 8 p.m. Saturday, Feb. 19

Orchestra Performances
Brought to you by the Department of Music

The College will host several ensemble and concert band performances this semester. Tickets range in price from $5 to $10 and are available at tcnj.edu/~arts/facilities/tcnjboxoffice.html.

• TCNJ Wind Ensemble
Where: Mildred and Ernest E. Mayo Concert Hall
When: 8 p.m. Thursday, March 3

• TCNJ Jazz Ensemble
Where: Kendall Hall
When: 8 p.m. Friday, April 1

• TCNJ Concert Band
Where: Mayo Concert Hall
When: 8 p.m. Wednesday, April 27

Dance Concerts
Brought to you by Synergy

College dance company Synergy hosts its Spring Spectacular in April this year. For more information, go to tcnj.edu/~synergy.

• Synergy Spring Spectacular
Where: Kendall Hall
When: 3 p.m. Sunday, April 3

Art Galleries
Brought to you by the Art Department

The Art Department welcomes three major exhibits this semester. All exhibits will occupy the College Art Gallery. For more information, go to tcnj.edu/~tcag.

• Contemporary Inuit Art from Cape Dorset
When: Wednesday, Jan. 26 to Wednesday, March 2

• Wounding the Black Male: Photographs from the Light Work Collection
When: Wednesday, March 16 to Wednesday, April 20

• 2011 BFA Senior Thesis Exhibition
When: Wednesday, April 27 to Saturday, May 7

Emily Brill can be reached at brill3@tcnj.edu.