When it comes to SGA elections – size definitely matters

Fall elections for the Student Government Association (SGA) ended smoothly with the election of a freshman class council, a new senior class council secretary and 12 senators on Tuesday, Sept. 26.

“I was very satisfied with the election process this fall,” SGA Executive President Christine Cullen said. “There was a good deal of competition for the freshman candidates, but they all ran clean, respectful campaigns.”

Mohammad Amer, freshman biomedical engineering major, was elected freshman class president with 199 votes. Amer said he hopes to have more inter-floor activities during his term as president. “(SGA) puts me in a position where I can implement the ideas I have to make sure that the class of 2010 will have the best freshman year possible,” he said.

Anthony Lista, freshman nursing major, was elected freshman class vice president with 241 votes. “I’m excited about SGA because it’s at the center of almost every major decision affecting students,” he said. “I get to be part of that process.”

With 149 votes, freshman chemistry major Christy Middlecoop won the secretary position. Also joining the freshman class council is Brianne Stratton, freshman technology education major, who won the treasurer position with 184 votes.

In addition to the freshman class council, senior finance major Christie Pirro was elected senior class secretary in her third year as an SGA member. In previous years, she served as senator of Business.

Two senators of Culture and Society, two senators of Engineering, one senator of Science and seven senators at-Large were also elected.

“I know that these senators will bring a lot of new ideas and experiences to the organization,” Cullen said.

Freshman Jennifer Hill, open options in the school of Culture and Society, was elected as a senator of Culture and Society.

Aaliyah Ali, freshman political science major, was also elected senator of Culture and Society.

Freshman Anthony Spinelli, open options in the school of Engineering, was elected senator of Engineering.

Also elected as a senator of Engineering was freshman biomedical engineering major Sana Fathima.

Mikhail Zhuravlev, sophomore statistics major, was elected senator of Science.

Finally, seven senators at-Large were elected. According to Cullen, four new positions were added to the senate this year as a result of the larger undergraduate population.

Andrew Rausa, sophomore communication studies major, was elected senator at-Large with 461 votes.

Freshman biology major Michela Fiaschi was also elected senator at-Large with 450 votes. Brian Skwarek, freshman accounting major, is a new senator at-Large as well.

Daniel Beckelman, junior political science major, said he is enthusiastic about his new role as senator at-Large. “I want to take back our school by creating a rebellion against the ineffective, established order in our school and state government. Budget cuts and bike cops are ruining our college experience and I am up for the challenge of taking the school back for the normal kids who go here,” he said.

Sophomore secondary education/history major Danielle Lagnese was also elected senator at-Large.

Christopher Konel, sophomore chemistry major, and Colleen Fisher, junior biology major, were elected senators at-Large as well.