New members welcomes as the old say goodbye

Eric Pasternack assumed his new role as executive president of the Student Government Association (SGA) at last week’s meeting. This year’s executive board members shared some parting words and then stepped aside for the new administration.

Annelise Catanzaro, this year’s executive president, formally swore in Pasternack, who then swore in the rest of the executive board, class councils and senators.

“We will carry on the eternal torch that is the SGA,” Pasternack said.

After swearing the new members in, Pasternack appointed students to the vacant positions.

Pasternack appointed Steve Viola – who had tried to run for vice president of Administration and Finance but was removed from the ballot – junior class treasurer. Mike Levy, former senator of Business, was appointed vice president of Administration and Finance.

Stephanie Cwynar, former freshman class vice president, was appointed sophomore class treasurer. John Ronan, former speaker of the senate, was appointed a senator of Business.

In her goodbye speech, Catanzaro said, “This administration has been like a giant Rice Krispie treat. We’re the krispies, but we came together to make something bigger.”

Catanzaro gave 10 points of advice to next year’s administration. She encouraged SGA to: implement proactive advocacy; host another New Jersey summit; develop and support the committee of Equity and Diversity; continue outreach to students; improve alumni relations; protect student life; fully utilize SGA’s Web site; carry on the legacy of Senior Week; promote personalized academics; and, last but not least, have fun.

Catanzaro was awarded Executive Board Member of the Year. Chris Rindosh and Leo Inglima won Rookies of the Year and James Gant was named Senator of the Year. The Program of the Year Award went to TCNJ Holiday, which involved making crafts for charities. Committee of the Year went to Community Services and its vice president, Mollie Seiferas.

The two administrations passed three resolutions during the meeting, all commending outstanding programs or people. The first resolution commended the political science department for allowing student representatives to attend its departmental committee meetings. It also requested that all other departments follow suit in allowing student representatives at their meetings.

The second resolution commended the School of Business for its outstanding advising and support of its students. The last resolution commended the group of students who ran the SGA election Web site. The site yielded the most successful election in SGA history, with a total of 1,308 votes cast.

Pasternack also swore in three new associate members: Tom Sales, former senator of Culture and Society; Danielle Lagnese, secondary education and history major; and Balvir Singh, junior mathematics and philosophy major.